BAND/AUTHOR:

ISON

(SWEDEN)

TITLE:
INNER-SPACE (2019)
LABEL:
AVANTGARDE MUSIC
GENRE:
DOOM

""Inner-Space" is a (un)inhabited flight in remote and inaccessible regions that combines the lethargy of Doom and the silky wandering of Atmospheric Rock."
CHILDERIC THOR - 10.02.2020 - (0) minds from our readers - (0) comment(s)
4/5
Draconian in hibernation for five years, there is fortunately ISON to console all the lovers of his current singer Heike Langhans, whose beauty is equalled only by her talent. Associated with the Swede Daniel Änghede, singer and guitarist of Crippled Black Phoenix, the beautiful girl finds in this project the ideal setting to spread like an evanescent shroud her crystalline voice whose quilted tessitura brings her closer to the funeral murmur. 

Presented as their first official opus, "Inner-Space" slips into the same corridor as "Cosmic Drone" (2015) and "Andromeda Skyline" (2017). Those who have rightly succumbed to the charms distilled by these drafts will neither be surprised nor disappointed by a content that is in every way in line with what we expected from it, the receptacle of a doom that is more spatial than atmospheric. 

The work has only one (relative) defect, it starts too strong. A perfect synthesis of a music that looks like a stellar pastel, the title track shines with such brilliance, melancholic and ethereal at the same time, that it does not allow the rest of the menu to sustain comparison. "Inner-Space" would only last these eight minutes, which it would still be indispensable, a real gem carved in a rock from the depths of space. 

If the couple formed by Heike with Neige (Alcest), the time of a pulsating and stormy 'Radiance', catches the attention, the following tracks leave at first only a vague memory, that of a resucée, always as magical as ever, of the eponymous track. But like the so particular - and therefore so precious - identity of its creators, these songs only reveal themselves through small pointillist touches. In the folds of their black hole vibrates their intimacy, elusive, almost vaporous. The stroke is never pressed, letting the spectral brush of the South African woman rock us like a soft but fatal melody. Attempts to harden the tone ('Equals') are quickly aborted, swallowed by a ghostly vortex. 

Lying on an electronic ('ISAE') or hypnotic bed ('The Fifth World', which is swamped by distant drone fragrances), the beautiful covers the entire album with a nebulous dome. Her vocal lines act like the wail of sirens guiding the listener in a strange universe stuck between several dimensions ('Everything's About To Change Forever'). The rustle of his voice is enough to express an immense sadness. The drums seem to be erased, the guitar reduced to skeletal chords in favour of a carpet of cosmic atmospheres sown by Daniel Änghede. Only 'A Golden Force' doesn't include the singer, for a less notable result. 

Certainly too long, perhaps repetitive, "Inner-Space" remains no less seductive, a (un)inhabited flight in remote and inaccessible regions, perfectly revealing a unique personality that combines the lethargy of doom and the silky wandering of atmospheric rock, all haloed by a space shroud. In any case, how can one resist Heike Langhans' vocal softness which gives these compositions an almost immaterial aspect. Her timbre has something of a limpid and bewitching halo, pale light coming from the abysses of the galaxy, which caresses us before falling asleep for an eternal sleep...

More informations on https://ison444.bandcamp.com/



SIMILAR BANDS:
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX, DRACONIAN

TRACK LISTING:
01. Inner-space - 08:35
02. Radiance - 10:05
03. Equals - 09:28
04. Isae - 07:07
05. Shipwrecks - 03:20
06. The Fifth World - 08:21
07. Everything's About To Change Forever - 07:37
08. A Golden Force - 06:36


LINEUP:
Daniel Änghede: Guitares / Claviers
Heike Langhans: Chant


TAGS:
Melancholic, Smoothing, Space, Female voice
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(0) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
No comment. Be the first to react about this review or on this production
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH ISON
RATING
- /5 (0 view(s)) 4/5 (2 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
DEMONS & WIZARDS: Iii (2020)
HEAVY METAL After a long sleep that one might have thought eternal, Demons & Wizards makes a miraculous comeback by regaining the class and magic of its first album.
 
NEXT REVIEW
UDO PANNEKEET: Electric Regions (2019)
JAZZ Bassist player of Focus, Udo Pannekeet explore in "Electric Regions" new musical dimensions for a result a rather few accessible but which remains nevertheless relatively interesting.
STREAMING
 
The album may not have been released or the spotify ID has not yet been entered or there is no spotify ID available
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT ISON
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

ISON

(SUÈDE)

INNER-SPACE

(2019)
LABEL:

AVANTGARDE MUSIC

GENRE:

DOOM

TAGS:
Chant féminin, Mélancolique, Planant
""Inner-Space" est un vol (in)habité dans des contrées reculées et inaccessibles, parfaitement révélateur d'une personnalité unique qui allie la léthargie du doom et l'errance soyeuse du rock atmosphérique."
CHILDERIC THOR (10.02.2020)  
4/5
(0) Avis (0) commentaire(s)
Draconian en hibernation depuis cinq ans, il existe heureusement ISON pour consoler tous les amoureux de son actuelle chanteuse Heike Langhans, dont la beauté n'a d'égale que le talent. Associée au Suédois Daniel Änghede, chanteur et guitariste de Crippled Black Phoenix, la belle trouve dans ce projet l'écrin idéal pour répandre tel un linceul évanescent sa voix cristalline dont la tessiture ouatée la rapproche du murmure funèbre.

Deux offrandes, qui n'ont d’EP que le nom eu égard à leur (longue) durée et leur qualité respectives, ont fait plus qu'éveiller notre curiosité au sujet de ce duo que le titre 'Rivers Between Us', figurant sur "Sovran", dernier album en date de Draconian, avait déjà assemblé. Présenté comme leur premier opus officiel, "Inner-Space" se glisse dans le même couloir que "Cosmic Drone" (2015) et "Andromeda Skyline" (2017). Ceux qui ont très justement succombé aux charmes distillés par ces ébauches ne seront ni surpris ni déçus par un contenu en tout point conforme à ce que nous attendions de lui, réceptacle d'un doom plus spatial qu'atmosphérique.

L'œuvre ne possède qu'un (relatif) défaut, elle démarre trop fort. Parfaite synthèse d'une musique aux allures de pastel stellaire, le morceau-titre brille d'un tel éclat, mélancolique et éthéré à la fois, qu'il ne permet pas au reste du menu de soutenir la comparaison. "Inner-Space" ne durerait que ces huit minutes, qu'il serait quand même indispensable, véritable gemme taillée dans une roche venue du fin fond de l'espace.

Si le couple que forme Heike avec Neige (Alcest), le temps d'un 'Radiance' pulsatif et orageux qui renouvelle la formule du duo conjugué au masculin et au féminin, accroche la mémoire, les pistes suivantes ne laissent tout d'abord qu'un vague souvenir, celui d'une resucée, au demeurant toujours aussi magique, de la piste éponyme. Mais à l'image de l'identité si particulière - et donc si précieuse - de ses créateurs, ces chansons ne se dévoilent que par petites touches pointillistes. Dans les replis de leur trou noir vibre leur intimité, insaisissable, presque vaporeuse. Jamais le trait n'est appuyé, laissant le pinceau spectral de la Sud-Africaine nous bercer à la manière d'une douce mais funeste mélopée. Les tentatives de durcir le ton ('Equals') sont vite avortées, avalées par un vortex fantomatique.

Couchée sur un lit électronique ('ISAE') ou hypnotique ('The Fifth World', que nimbent de lointaines effluves drone), la belle recouvre entièrement l'album d'un dôme nébuleux. Ses lignes vocales agissent comme la plainte de sirènes guidant l'auditeur dans un univers étrange coincé entre plusieurs dimensions ('Everything's About To Change Forever'). Le bruissement de sa voix suffit à exprimer une tristesse immense. La batterie semble être gommée, la guitare, réduite à des accords squelettiques au profit d'un tapis d'ambiances cosmiques que sème Daniel Änghede. Seul 'A Golden Force' n'embarque pas la chanteuse, pour un résultat du coup moins notable.

Trop long certainement, répétitif peut-être, "Inner-Space" n'en demeure pas moins séduisant, vol (in)habité dans des contrées reculées et inaccessibles, parfaitement révélateur d'une personnalité unique qui allie la léthargie du doom et l'errance soyeuse du rock atmosphérique, le tout auréolé  d'un suaire spatial. De toute façon, comment résister à la douceur vocale de Heike Langhans qui confère à ces compositions un aspect quasi immatériel. Son timbre a quelque chose d'un halo limpide et ensorcelant, pâle lumière venue des abîmes de la galaxie, qui nous caresse avant de nous endormir pour un sommeil éternel...
- Site officiel
GROUPES PROCHES:
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX, DRACONIAN

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Inner-space - 08:35
02. Radiance - 10:05
03. Equals - 09:28
04. Isae - 07:07
05. Shipwrecks - 03:20
06. The Fifth World - 08:21
07. Everything's About To Change Forever - 07:37
08. A Golden Force - 06:36

FORMATION:
Daniel Änghede: Guitares / Claviers
Heike Langhans: Chant
   
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS    
Haut de page
   
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)    
 
 
Haut de page
L'album n'est peut être pas sorti ou l'ID spotify n'a pas encore été renseigné ou il n'y a pas d'ID spotify disponible
LECTEURS:
-/5 (0 avis)
STAFF:
4.5/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
DEMONS & WIZARDS: Iii (2020)
HEAVY METAL - Après un long sommeil que l'on aurait pu penser éternel, Demons & Wizards effectue un retour miraculeux en retrouvant la classe et la magie de son premier album.
UDO PANNEKEET: Electric Regions (2019)
JAZZ - Virage à 180 degrés pour le bassiste de Focus qui expérimente le monde du jazz à travers cet album solo aventureux et diversifié.
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT ISON
ISON_Stars--Embers
Stars & Embers (2023)
3/5
-/5
AVANTGARDE MUSIC / POST ROCK
ISON_Aurora
Aurora (2021)
4/5
-/5
AVANTGARDE MUSIC / POST ROCK
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2024