BAND/AUTHOR:

ELFIKA

(FRANCE)

TITLE:
SECRETUM SECRETORUM (2020)
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
MELODIC METAL

"With a thorough concept, sometimes bordering on prog, "Secretum Secretorum" is a beautiful moment of sensual and racy music, which charms the ears and soothes the senses."
THIBAUTK - 19.02.2020 - (0) minds from our readers - (0) comment(s)
3/5
Elfika is a symphonic metal band born in 2010 under the impulse of Manu (bass) and singer Laure Ali-Khodja. The band produced a relatively well-received demo, then two years and a few staff changes later, started writing its album produced by Didier Chesneau (Headline, Attraction Theory), "Secretum Secretorum". ( Secrets of Secrets ) This record inspired by the medieval treatise of the same name, between occultism and politics, oscillates between intensity and sweet melodies. 

From the very first moments of 'So Human', the band asserts its rock side, with energetic rhythms, a powerful voice and lyrical colours. Even if 'The Chamber Of Secrets' had introduced the record like the soundtrack of a movie (crystalline notes, melodramatic piano and symphonic climax), it's to better pick up the listener with 'So Human', an energetic track worthy of Kamelot. 'Broken Wings' raises a wind of revolt, the suave and charming voice in contrast reminiscent of 'Strangers On A Train'. 'The Other' has a tender and fragile voice, worthy of Hannah Stobbart from The Wishing Tree. 'Angel' with its grandiose backing vocals is reminiscent of Visions of Atlantis or Within Temptation, with its square riffs and energetic drums. 

'Dark Virgin' is a progressive journey in four acts. The first ('The Prayer') is a Hail Mary as collected as Schubert's. Then the sky darkens and splits in two ('From Heaven To Hell'). Religious choirs begin the track, a grunt voice seconds the female voice. We think about Orphanage or Epica but here the result is not at the same level because the singer is not very comfortable. 'Revenge', between symphonism and flamboyant gothic, unveils an almost soothing rhythm, even if the guitar delivers warmth and tension. 'Redemption' is full of twists and turns: an introduction by voice and piano, a power surge with multiple variations, a ride that skims the prog, a moment of silence that splits the track, a solitary dissonant six-string from Symphony X ("Divine Wings Of Tragedy")...

"Secretum Secretorum" is an energetic and melodic album with discreet symphonism. Elfika puts forward the essence of metal and rock of the genre, focusing on raw energy. The album reminds the most beautiful moments of Headline of which he is the worthy successor and heir. This work with a thorough concept, sometimes bordering on prog, is a beautiful moment of sensual and racy music, which charms the ears and soothes the senses.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/elfika/



SIMILAR BANDS:
KAMELOT, WITHIN TEMPTATION, EDENBRIDGE, EPICA, ATTRACTION THEORY, NIGHTWISH

TRACK LISTING:
01. The Chamber Of Secrets
02. So Human
03. Angel
04. The Other
05. Broken Wings
06. Dark Virgin Part I: The Prayer (ave Maria)
07. Dark Virgin Part Ii: Form Heaven To Hell
08. Dark Virgin Part Iii: Revenge
09. Dark Virgin Part Iv:Redemption
10. Inferno


LINEUP:
Laure Ali-khodja: Chant
Manu P: Basse
Anthony Parker: Guitares / Invité
Axel Thomas: Batterie / Invité
Constance Amelane: Invité / Choeurs
Didier Chesneau: Guitares / Invité


TAGS:
Symphonic, Technical, Female voice, Chorus
 
 
(0) MIND(S) FROM OUR READERS
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Top of the page
(0) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
No comment. Be the first to react about this review or on this production
Top of the page
IN RELATION WITH ELFIKA
LAST NEWS
ELFIKA: Secretum Secretorum
All news about ELFIKA
RATING
- /5 (0 view(s)) 3.5/5 (2 view(s))
MY RATE:
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
PREVIOUS REVIEW
ANNIHILATOR: Ballistic, Sadistic (2020)
THRASH Annihilator confirms with "Ballistic, Sadistic" its excellent shape. He throws a first-rate thrash with a high number of guitar fulgurances.
 
NEXT REVIEW
AUTUMN'S CHILD: Autumn's Child (2020)
A.O.R. Autumn's Child has just released the fourteenth opus of Last Autumn's Dream.
STREAMING
 
 
OTHER(S) REVIEWS ABOUT ELFIKA
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

ARTISTE:

ELFIKA

(FRANCE)
TITRE:

SECRETUM SECRETORUM

(2020)
LABEL:

AUTRE LABEL

GENRE:

METAL MELODIQUE

TAGS:
Chant féminin, Symphonique, Technique
"“Secretum Secretorum” est un album énergique et mélodique plein de sensualité, au symphonisme discret et à l'énergie rock intense."
THIBAUTK (19.02.2020)  
3/5
(0) Avis des lecteurs (0) commentaire(s)

Elfika est un groupe de metal symphonique né en 2010 sous l'impulsion de Manu (basse) et de la chanteuse Laure Ali-Khodja. La formation a produit une démo relativement bien accueillie, puis deux ans et quelques changements de personnel plus tard, a commencé l’écriture de son album produit par Didier Chesneau (Headline, Attraction Theory), “Secretum Secretorum” ("secret des secrets"). Ce disque inspiré par le traité médiéval du même nom, entre occultisme et politique, oscille entre intensité et mélodies suaves. 

Dès les premiers instants de ‘So Human’, le groupe affirme son côté rock, avec des rythmes énergiques, une voix puissante et des couleurs lyriques conçues comme un habillage. Même si ‘The Chamber Of Secrets’ avait introduit le disque comme la bande sonore d’un film (notes cristallines, piano mélodramatique et montée symphonique), c’est pour mieux cueillir ensuite l’auditeur avec ‘So Human’, un titre énergique digne de Kamelot. ‘Broken Wings’ soulève un vent de révolte, la voix suave et charmante en contraste rappelant Strangers On A Train. ‘The Other’ propose une voix tendre et fragile, qui offre un visage digne de Hannah Stobbart de The Wishing Tree. La puissance est une arme de destruction massive, un outil de séduction lascive au service de la mélodie. ‘Angel’ avec ses chœurs grandioses rappelle Visions of Atlantis ou Within Temptation, même si l'intensité y est de mise avec ses riffs carrés et sa batterie énergique. 

'Dark Virgin’ est un voyage progressif en quatre actes. Le premier (‘The Prayer’) est un Ave Maria aussi recueilli que celui de Schubert. Puis le ciel s'assombrit et se déchire en deux (‘From Heaven To Hell’). Des chœurs religieux débutent la piste, une voix grunt seconde la voix féminine. Certes Orphanage ou Epica ont utilisé ce mélange, mais ici la sauce ne semble pas prendre, car on sent le chanteur peu à son aise. ‘Revenge’, entre symphonisme et gothique flamboyant, dévoile un rythme presque apaisé, même si la guitare délivre chaleur et tension. ‘Redemption’ est plein de rebondissements : une introduction de voix et de piano, une montée en puissance aux variations multiples, une chevauchée qui effleure le prog, un instant de silence qui scinde la piste, une six-cordes solitaire dissonante venue de chez Symphony X (“Divine Wings Of Tragedy”)...

“Secretum Secretorum” est un album énergique et mélodique au symphonisme discret. Elfika y met en avant l’essence metal et rock du genre, centre son propos sur l’énergie brute. Le disque rappelle les plus beaux moments de Headline dont il est le digne successeur et héritier. Cette œuvre au concept fouillé, parfois à la limite du prog, est un beau moment de musique sensuelle et racée, qui charme les oreilles et apaise les sens.


Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/elfika/





LISTE DES PISTES:
01. The Chamber Of Secrets
02. So Human
03. Angel
04. The Other
05. Broken Wings
06. Dark Virgin Part I: The Prayer (ave Maria)
07. Dark Virgin Part Ii: Form Heaven To Hell
08. Dark Virgin Part Iii: Revenge
09. Dark Virgin Part Iv:Redemption
10. Inferno

FORMATION:
Laure Ali-khodja: Chant
Manu P: Basse
Anthony Parker: Guitares / Invité
Axel Thomas: Batterie / Invité
Constance Amelane: Invité / Choeurs
Didier Chesneau: Guitares / Invité
   
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS    
Haut de page
   
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)    
 
 
Haut de page
LECTEURS:
-/5 (0 avis)
STAFF:
3.5/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
ELFIKA DEVOILE SES SECRETS A MUSIC WAVES!
DERNIERE INTERVIEW
ELFIKA (10 JANVIER 2020)
Après une démo particulièrement bien accueillie par la presse et le public, Elfika revient avec son premier album. L'occasion pour nous de percer les secrets du groupe...
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
ANNIHILATOR: Ballistic, Sadistic (2020)
THRASH - Annihilator confirme avec "Ballistic, Sadistic" son excellente forme. Il y balance un thrash de premier ordre avec nombre de fulgurances à la guitare de la part d'un Jeff Waters au sommet de son art.
BURNING WITCHES: Wings Of Steel (2019)
HEAVY METAL - En dépit de son intérêt limité, "Wings Of Steel" remplit néanmoins sa mission, présentation d'une nouvelle chanteuse déjà adoptée et préliminaires avant le très attendu successeur de "Hexenhammer".
 
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2021