MW / Home / Reviews / SLIPKNOT: We Are Not Your Kind
BAND/AUTHOR:

SLIPKNOT

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
WE ARE NOT YOUR KIND
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
ROADRUNNER RECORDS
GENRE:
NEO/NU METAL
"Slipknot signs a nice return to business with a varied, fresh opus and an intelligence that commands respect."
NOISE - 23.09.2019 -
Slipknot is a monster of the metal scene, capable of uniting considerable crowds, transcending genres and selling pallets of records. All his actions are scrutinized and "We Are Not Your Kind" was expected. The band did a promotion that distilled few informations and in particular did a buzz around its new masks. "5: The Grey Chapter" showed a formation that was suffering but had been able to rebuild itself. Since then there have been other events in the band's life, including the stormy departure of Chris Fehn. 

Slipknot is again greedy with more than an hour and 14 tracks, but clever, creates a gloomy atmosphere thanks to the intro and interludes. There are also some surprises in the program of a rich album and not so immediate to assimilate as it seems at first sight.

The "Corner" intro that takes us into this new chapter has a cold, mechanical side, like a futuristic film soundtrack like "Blade Runner", it's a journey to the limits of the madness. There are neo-thrash titles typical of the Slipknot sound, pure discharges of raw energy that hurts:'Unsainted','Birth Of The Cruel','Nero Forte','Red Flag' and'Orphan' form an impressive quintet, with explosions of rage, a typical jump side and a crazy groove that has made the strenght of the band.

There is also a Corey Taylor at the top of his shape, screaming his rage like a damned man; but next to that he modulates his voice remarkably with clear singing parts in Stonesour's mind, and he comes out as the big winner of the record. When melody takes precedence over power, it gives different titles strong in soul. 'Critical Darling' is a thrill with a pretty horrific side and a melancholic soft break. 'A Liar's Funeral' and 'Spiders' put violence in the background with catchy melodic passages that are effective. And there is the U.M.O. of the album,'My Pain'. This long atmospheric track is soaring and airy with a dark side, a real success with whispered vocals that takes us out of time in a progressive spirit surprising for the band.

"We Are Not Your Kind" is a success from a band that has this ability to own several lives. Slipknot signs a nice return to business with a varied, fresh opus and an intelligence that commands respect.

More informations on http://www.slipknot1.com/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

STONE SOUR, SOULFLY, KORN, ZUUL FX, MURDERDOLLS, DOPPELGÄNGER, MARILYN MANSON, VOICE OF RUIN

TRACK LISTING

01. Coin
02. Unsainted
03. Birth Of The Cruel
04. Death Because Of Death
05. Nero Forte
06. Critical Darling
07. Liar’s Funeral
08. Red Flag
09. What’s Next
10. Spiders
11. Orphan
12. My Pain
13. Not Long For This World
14. Solway Firth


LINEUP

Chris Fehn: Percussions
Clown: Batterie
Corey Taylor: Chant
Craig Jones: Guitares / Claviers / Samples
James Root: Guitares
Jay Weinberg: Batterie
Mick Thompson: Guitares
Sid Wilson: DJ
Vman: Basse


TAGS:
Heavy, Melancholic, Grunt/Growl voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS SLIPKNOT
LAST NEWS
SLIPKNOT: New song
VIDEO

Read the news
View all news about SLIPKNOT
 
RATING
 
3.5/5 (2 view(s))
5/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS SLIPKNOT
 
SLIPKNOT_WE-ARE-NOT-YOUR-KIND We Are Not Your Kind (2019)
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / NEO/NU METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

ARTISTE:

SLIPKNOT

(ETATS UNIS)
TITRE:

WE ARE NOT YOUR KIND

(2019)
LABEL:

ROADRUNNER RECORDS

GENRE:

NEO/NU METAL

TAGS:
Growl, Mélancolique
"Slipknot propose un disque de grande qualité avec la puissance de feu qu'on lui connaît mais aussi de jolis moments de grâce mélancolique."
NOISE (23.09.2019)  
4/5
(0) Avis des lecteurs (0) commentaire(s)

Slipknot est un monstre de la scène métallique, capable de fédérer des foules considérables, transcendant les genres et  vendant des palettes de disques. Tous ses faits et gestes sont scrutés à la loupe et "We Are Not Your Kind" est attendu. Le groupe a su faire monter la sauce avec une promo distillant les infos au compte-goutte et notamment un buzz autour de ses nouveaux masques.

"5 : The Grey Chapter" montrait une formation en souffrance mais qui avait su se reconstruire. Depuis il y a eu d’autres évènements dans la vie du groupe, notamment le départ houleux de Chris Fehn. Il est permis de se demander dans quel état on va le retrouver après cinq ans de disette. Slipknot a encore été gourmand avec plus d’une heure et 14 pistes, mais malin, crée une atmosphère glauque grâce à l’intro et des interludes. Il y a aussi des surprises au programme d’un disque riche et pas si immédiat qu’il le paraît de prime abord.

L’intro ‘Coin’ qui nous fait pénétrer ce nouveau chapitre a un côté froid, mécanique comme une bande son de film futuriste à la "Blade Runner". C’est un voyage aux confins de la folie qui attend l’auditeur. Il y a des titres néo thrash typique du son Slipknot, pures décharges d’énergie brute taillées pour faire mal : ‘Unsainted’,  ‘Birth Of The Cruel’, ‘Nero Forte’, ‘Red Flag’ et ‘Orphan’ forment un quintet impressionnant, avec des explosions de rage, un côté jump typique et un groove déjanté qui a fait la force du groupe.

Il y a aussi  un Corey Taylor au sommet de son art, hurlant sa rage avec une hargne qui fait froid dans le dos ; mais à côté il module sa voix de manière remarquable avec des parties de chant clair dans l’esprit de Stonesour, et il sort comme le grand gagnant du disque. Quand la mélodie prend le pas sur la puissance, cela donne des titres différents forts en âme. ‘Critical Darling’ donne le frisson avec un joli côté horrifique et un break soft mélancolique à fleur de peau. ‘A Liar’s Funeral’ et ‘Spiders’ mettent la violence en arrière-plan avec des passages mélodiques accrocheurs efficaces. Et il y a l’O.V.N.I. de l’album, ‘My Pain’. Ce long titre atmosphérique se fait planant et aérien avec un côté sombre, véritable réussite au chant chuchoté qui emmène hors du temps dans un esprit progressif surprenant pour le groupe.

"We Are Not Your Kind" est une réussite de la part d’un groupe qui a tout du chat pour cette capacité à posséder plusieurs vies. Slipknot signe un  joli retour aux affaires avec un opus varié, frais et d’une intelligence qui force le respect.


Plus d'information sur http://www.slipknot1.com/





LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Coin
02. Unsainted
03. Birth Of The Cruel
04. Death Because Of Death
05. Nero Forte
06. Critical Darling
07. Liar’s Funeral
08. Red Flag
09. What’s Next
10. Spiders
11. Orphan
12. My Pain
13. Not Long For This World
14. Solway Firth

FORMATION:
Chris Fehn: Percussions
Clown: Batterie
Corey Taylor: Chant
Craig Jones: Guitares / Claviers / Samples
James Root: Guitares
Jay Weinberg: Batterie
Mick Thompson: Guitares
Sid Wilson: DJ
Vman: Basse
   
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS    
Haut de page
   
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)    
 
 
Haut de page
LECTEURS:
5/5 (1 avis)
STAFF:
3.5/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
SLIPKNOT: La vidéo de 'Nero Forte'
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
ROXY BLUE: Roxy Blue (2019)
HARD ROCK - "Roxy Blue" est un album de hard rock bourré d'énergie, parfois à la limite du punk, s'adressant avant tout aux amateurs d'une musique simple et agressive.
AVIANA: Epicenter (2019)
METALCORE - Aviana propose une musique puissante, technique et tranchante qui pourrait toutefois être améliorée avec une écriture plus nuancée et plus équilibrée.
 
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT SLIPKNOT
SLIPKNOT_-5-The-Gray-Chapter
.5: The Gray Chapter (2014)
4/5
-/5
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / NEO/NU METAL
SLIPKNOT_Sicnesses--Live-At-Download
(Sic)nesses - Live At Download (2010)
4/5
-/5
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / NEO/NU METAL
SLIPKNOT_All-Hope-Is-Gone
All Hope Is Gone (2008)
3/5
4/5
ROADRUNNER RECORDS / NEO/NU METAL
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2021