MW / Home / Reviews / LUCY IN BLUE: In Flight
BAND/AUTHOR:

LUCY IN BLUE

(ICELAND)

TITLE:
IN FLIGHT
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
KARISMA RECORDS
GENRE:
PROGRESSIVE ROCK
"Lovers with psychedelic rock, nostalgics for the Pink Floyd period 67-73, "In Flight" is made for you !"
CORTO1809 - 13.05.2019 -
If Iceland is well known for its picturesque tourist attractions, between its fjords, lava fields and glaciers, or more anecdotally for its volcano with an unpronounceable name, the 'Eyjafjallajökull, which made the headlines in 2010 and served as a pretext for a friendly film with Dany Boon and Valérie Bonneton, it is less renowned for its rock scene. Yet, despite its population barely reaching that of a city like Nice, the country does not lack artists, the most famous being the unclassifiable Björk and the no less original Sigur Rós. A little as if the living conditions so particular to this island could only generate extraordinary artists.

Despite its Anglo-Saxon name, Lucy In Blue is indeed a new Icelandic representative, you only have to look at the names of the musicians who compose it to be convinced. Formed in 2013, the group released their first eponymous album in 2016 and won a loyal audience by scouring the local stages. He returns this year with a second album, "In Flight", whose black, white and night blue cover undoubtedly evokes his native island.

The title of the album announces the color because Lucy In Blue will delight us with an aerial, spatial... "planante" music as we used to say in the 70s, a period to which the music of Icelanders certainly clings. 'Alight' split into two parts and which opens the disc immediately plunges us into a psychedelic progressive reminiscent of the Pink Floyd of the first era, from "The Piper at The Gates of Dawn" to "The Dark Side of the Moon". The vocals are vaporous and the keyboards that stretch into spatial layers immerse us in an atmosphere worthy of 'Astronomy Domine' or 'Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun'.

The nod to the psychedelic Floyd is nestled in the smallest detail, like these two chords that open and close the album, identical to those that begin and end the track 'Breathe' on "The Dark Side of the Moon". Or in the slow and melancholic melody that voluptuously rises in the high notes on "Núverandi", which one would think comes out of "Atom Heart Mother/Meddle", or even "More" for the hippie hallucinated side by the long notes rising and falling from the keyboards.

But Lucy In Blue is far from being a simple clone of Pink Floyd. If he evokes their best moments, he nevertheless keeps his own personality, knowing how to distance himself from his prestigious model on many occasions ('Alight part 2', 'Matricide', 'Tempest') when it is not to draw inspiration from the Canterbury of his origins as on 'Respire' where everything, the rhythm, the keyboards, the vocals, the melody, takes us to the side of the first Caravan albums, or to the beginning of "In Flight" whose contemplative and dreamy side makes us swim in an ocean of pink clouds, with a very hippie side in the disarming melody of naive (but not meek) kindness.

For those who love psychedelic prog, it will be very difficult to find a flaw in this album : the melodies are exquisite, the musicians impeccable and the recording, clear and precise, avoids us the false nostalgia of the sometimes rough rendering of the records of the early 70s. With this second album, Lucy In Blue makes more than confirms his potential : Iceland has just unveiled another one of her wonders.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/lucyinblue/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

PINK FLOYD, CAMEL, CARAVAN, SOUP

TRACK LISTING

01. Alight Part 1 (02:32)
02. Alight Part 2 (03:50)
03. Respire (07:50)
04. Matricide (04:17)
05. Núverandi (05:15)
06. Tempest (04:15)
07. In Flight (09:44)
08. On Ground (03:09)


LINEUP

Arnaldur Ingi Jónsson: Chant / Claviers
Kolbeinn Þórsson: Batterie
Matthías Hlífar Mogensen: Basse
Steinþór Bjarni Gíslason: Chant / Guitares


TAGS:
70's, Canterbury, Smoothing, Psychedelic
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
productionuser_idproduction_comment_id
MARKY - 29/05/2019 06:51:34
Entièrement d'accord avec Corto1809 . Pour ma part , je me replonge avec bonheur dans ces années où je découvrais le Floyd et ses ambiances planantes . Lucy in blue n'invente rien mais ça fait sacrément du bien de "décoller" comme au bon vieux temps ...
2514476
 
LINKS LUCY IN BLUE
 
RATING
 
4/5 (2 view(s))
3.5/5 (2 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS LUCY IN BLUE
 
LUCY-IN-BLUE_In-Flight In Flight (2019)
KARISMA RECORDS / PROGRESSIVE ROCK
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

ARTISTE:

LUCY IN BLUE

(ISLAND)
TITRE:

IN FLIGHT

(2019)
LABEL:

KARISMA RECORDS

GENRE:

ROCK PROGRESSIF

TAGS:
Old School, Planant, Psychédélique
"Amoureux de rock psychédélique, nostalgiques du Pink Floyd période 67-73, "In Flight" est fait pour vous !"
CORTO1809 (13.05.2019)  
5/5
(0) Avis des lecteurs (1) commentaire(s)

Si l'Islande est bien connue pour ses attraits touristiques pittoresques, entre ses fjords, ses champs de lave et ses glaciers, ou de façon plus anecdotique pour son volcan au nom imprononçable, l'Eyjafjallajökull, qui défraya la chronique en 2010 et servit de prétexte à un film sympathique avec Dany Boon et Valérie Bonneton, elle est moins renommée pour sa scène rock. Pourtant, le pays, malgré son nombre d'habitants atteignant à peine celui d'une ville comme Nice, ne manque pas d'artistes, les plus célèbres étant l'inclassable Björk et les non moins originaux Sigur Rós. Un peu comme si les conditions de vie si particulières à cette île ne pouvaient qu'engendrer des artistes hors norme.

Malgré son patronyme anglo-saxon, Lucy In Blue est bien un nouveau représentant islandais, il suffit de jeter un œil au nom des musiciens qui le composent pour s'en convaincre. Formé en 2013, le groupe sort un premier album éponyme en 2016 et se gagne un public fidèle en écumant les scènes locales. Il revient cette année avec un deuxième disque, "In Flight", dont la pochette noire, blanche et bleu nuit évoque à n'en pas douter son île natale.

Le titre de l'album annonce la couleur car Lucy In Blue va nous régaler d'une musique aérienne, spatiale… planante comme on disait dans les années 70, une période à laquelle la musique des Islandais se raccroche assurément. 'Alight' scindé en deux parties et qui ouvre le disque nous plonge immédiatement dans un progressif psychédélique évoquant le Pink Floyd de la première époque, celle qui va de "The Piper at The Gates of Dawn" à "The Dark Side of the Moon". Le chant est vaporeux et les claviers qui s'étirent en nappes spatiales nous immergent dans une atmosphère digne de 'Astronomy Domine' ou 'Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun'.

Le clin d'œil au Floyd psychédélique se niche dans le moindre détail, comme ces deux accords qui ouvrent et ferment l'album, identiques à ceux qui débutent et terminent le titre 'Breathe' sur "The Dark Side of the Moon". Ou encore dans la lente et mélancolique mélodie qui s'élève voluptueusement dans les aigus sur 'Núverandi', qu'on croirait sortie de "Atom Heart Mother/Meddle", voire "More" pour le côté hippie halluciné des longues notes montantes et descendantes des claviers.

Mais Lucy In Blue est loin d'être un simple clone du Flamant Rose. S'il en évoque les meilleurs moments, il n'en garde pas moins une personnalité qui lui est propre, sachant prendre ses distances avec son prestigieux modèle à de nombreuses reprises ('Alight part 2', 'Matricide', 'Tempest') quand ce n'est pas pour aller puiser son inspiration dans le Canterbury des origines comme sur 'Respire' où tout, le rythme, les claviers, le chant, la mélodie, nous emmène du côté des premiers albums de Caravan, ou au début de 'In Flight' dont le côté contemplatif et rêveur nous fait nager dans un océan de nuages roses, avec un côté très hippie dans la mélodie désarmante de naïve (mais pas mièvre) gentillesse.

Pour qui aime le prog psychédélique, il sera bien difficile de trouver un défaut à cet album : les mélodies sont exquises, les musiciens impeccables et la prise de son, claire et précise, nous évite la fausse nostalgie du rendu parfois brouillon des disques du début des années 70. Avec ce deuxième album, Lucy In Blue fait plus que confirmer son potentiel : l'Islande vient de nous dévoiler une autre de ses merveilles.


Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/lucyinblue/



GROUPES PROCHES:
CARAVAN, PINK FLOYD, SOUP, CAMEL


LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Alight Part 1 (02:32)
02. Alight Part 2 (03:50)
03. Respire (07:50)
04. Matricide (04:17)
05. Núverandi (05:15)
06. Tempest (04:15)
07. In Flight (09:44)
08. On Ground (03:09)

FORMATION:
Arnaldur Ingi Jónsson: Chant / Claviers
Kolbeinn Þórsson: Batterie
Matthías Hlífar Mogensen: Basse
Steinþór Bjarni Gíslason: Chant / Guitares
   
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS    
Haut de page
   
(1) COMMENTAIRE(S)    
 
 
MARKY
29/05/2019
 
51
0
Entièrement d'accord avec Corto1809 . Pour ma part , je me replonge avec bonheur dans ces années où je découvrais le Floyd et ses ambiances planantes . Lucy in blue n'invente rien mais ça fait sacrément du bien de "décoller" comme au bon vieux temps ...
Haut de page
LECTEURS:
3.5/5 (4 avis)
STAFF:
4/5 (2 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
NOSTROMO: Narrenschiff (2019)
HARDCORE - Jamais peut-être, avec "Narrenschiff", Nostromo n'a paru aussi radical dans sa noirceur dévorante.
FRACTAL UNIVERSE: Rhizomes Of Insanity (2019)
DEATH METAL - “Rhizomes of Insanity” est une fusion de genres, un très bel album qui met en avant une émotion pure, très humaniste.
 
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
L'album n'est peut être pas sorti ou l'ID spotify n'a pas encore été renseigné ou il n'y a pas d'ID spotify disponible
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2021