MW / Home / Reviews / WALTER TROUT: Survivor’s Blues
BAND/AUTHOR:

WALTER TROUT

(UNITED STATES)

TITLE:
SURVIVOR’S BLUES
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
PROVOGUE RECORDS
GENRE:
BLUES
"Rarely has an album of covers been so bewitching and essential because of its variety and the power of the emotions transmitted."
LOLOCELTIC - 26.02.2019 -
Since his return to business in 2015 with the divine "Battle Scars", Walter Trout has taken advantage of his status as a surviving legend to carry out a series of first-rate projects. With "We're All In This Together" (2017), he had sublimated the duo's art and now he is back with a new album whose concept is to cover rare tracks from the blues-rock landscape. The idea came to him when he listened to his car radio while yet another band was using a standard. He had to tackle lesser-known titles and personalize them. This is done with this well named "Survivor Blues".

While Teddy Andreadis replaced Sammy Avila on keyboards, Walter Trout is still supported by his usual rhythm section composed of Johnny Griparic on bass and Michael Leasure on drums. The complicity with his band is total and is felt throughout the 12 tracks drawn in their vast majority from the Chicago Blues repertoire. The work done on Hound Dog Taylor's "Sadie" or the canvas woven on John Mayall's "Nature Disappearing" is simply exceptional and exemplary. As is customary in the industry, the singer-guitarist also called upon distinguished guests to share some of his songs. This is the case on Luther Johnson's 'Woman Don't Lie' where he shares the singing with Sugaray Rayford for a result that is both powerful and groovy. On Mississippi Fred McDowell's 'Going Down To The River', it is nothing more or less than Robby Krieger (The Doors) who comes to put down his slide lines for a result that breathes the feeling on each note.

But if he knows how to surround himself, Walter Trout remains the master of the place and reigns without sharing. And if we are used to his luminous and varied guitar playing, ranging from a magical touch ('Me, My Guitar And The Blues' - Jimmy Dawkins) to a Hendrixian game on JB Lenoir's'God's Word', which originally made him a simple singer-guitar duo, his voice is still rising on this new opus. It can be as heartbreaking ('Something Inside Of Me' by Elmore James, or'It Takes Time' by Otis Rush) as it can be very delicate ('Nature Disappearing'). This variety is found at different levels throughout this opus which captures the attention from the first to the last note and reveals an endless richness. The atmospheres alternate between heartbreaking and feeling filled ballads ('Me, My Guitar And The Blues', Something Inside Of Me','Out Of Bad Luck' by Magic Sam) and powerful rock ('Please Love Me' by B.B King, the raging'Red Sun' by Joel Poluck,'It Takes Time').

Once again, Walter Trout offers a complete, varied and flawless album, capable of impressing purists with its technical quality and touching all listeners in the heart. Rarely has an album of covers ever been so bewitching and essential. A huge thank you to this artist who is increasingly revealing himself as a wonderful provider of emotions.

More informations on http://www.waltertrout.com

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

JEFF HEALEY, GARY MOORE, JOE BONAMASSA, SOUTHERN GENTLEMEN, JEFF BECK, GENERAL STORE, DOUBLE STONE WASHED, JOE LOUIS WALKER, ROBERT CRAY, KENNY WAYNE SHEPHERD

TRACK LISTING

01. Me My Guitar And The Blues - 7:01
02. Be Careful How You Vote - 3:56
03. Woman Don't Lie (feat. Sugaray Rayford) - 5:27
04. Sadie - 4:44
05. Please Love Me - 3:47
06. Nature's Disappearing - 6:36
07. Red Sun - 4:26
08. Something Inside Of Me - 6:38
09. It Takes Time - 4:17
10. Out Of Bad Luck - 5:00
11. Going Down The River (feat. Robby Krieger) - 6:52
12. God's Word - 6:17


LINEUP

Johnny Griparic: Basse
Michael Leasure: Batterie
Teddy ‘zig Zag’ Andreadis: Claviers
Walter Trout: Chant / Guitares
Robby Krieger: Guitares / Invité
Sugaray Rayford: Chant / Invité


TAGS:
Bluesy, Old School, Compilation, Guitar-Hero, Covers, Rasping voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS WALTER TROUT
 
RATING
 
4/5 (1 view(s))
3/5 (1 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS WALTER TROUT
 
WALTER-TROUT_Survivor’s-Blues Survivor’s Blues (2019)
PROVOGUE RECORDS / BLUES
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville Records, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

ARTISTE:

WALTER TROUT

(ETATS UNIS)
TITRE:

SURVIVOR’S BLUES

(2019)
LABEL:

PROVOGUE RECORDS

GENRE:

BLUES

TAGS:
Bluesy, Chant éraillé, Compilation, Guitar-Hero, Old School, Reprises
"Rarement un album de reprises se sera fait aussi envoûtant et indispensable par sa variété et par la puissance des émotions transmises."
LOLOCELTIC (26.02.2019)  
4/5
(1) Avis des lecteurs (0) commentaire(s)

Depuis son retour aux affaires en 2015 avec le divin "Battle Scars", Walter Trout profite de son statut de légende survivante pour enchaîner les projets et les offrandes de premier ordre. Avec "We’re All In This Together" (2017), il avait sublimé l’art du duo et le voici de retour avec un nouvel album dont le concept consiste à reprendre des titres rares du paysage blues-rock. L’idée lui est venue à l’écoute de son autoradio alors qu’un énième groupe reprenait un standard. Il lui fallait s’attaquer à des titres moins connus et les personnaliser. Voilà qui est fait avec ce "Survivor Blues" bien nommé qui déboule sur nos platines en attente.

Alors que Teddy Andreadis a remplacé Sammy Avila aux claviers, Walter Trout est toujours soutenu par sa section rythmique habituelle composée de Johnny Griparic à la basse et de Michael Leasure à la batterie. La complicité avec son groupe est totale et se ressent tout au long des 12 titres tirés dans leur grande majorité du répertoire du Chicago Blues. Le travail réalisé sur le ‘Sadie’ de Hound Dog Taylor ou la toile tissée sur le ‘Nature Disappearing’ du mentor John Mayall, sont tout simplement exceptionnels et exemplaires. Comme il est de coutume dans le milieu, le guitariste-chanteur a également fait appel à des invités de marque pour partager certains titres. C’est le cas sur le ‘Woman Don’t Lie’ de Luther Johnson où il partage le chant avec Sugaray Rayford pour un résultat à la fois puissant et groovy à souhait. Sur le ‘Going Down To The River’ de Mississippi Fred McDowell, ce n’est ni plus ni moins que Robby Krieger (The Doors) qui vient poser ses lignes de slide pour un résultat transpirant le feeling sur chaque note.

Mais s’il sait s’entourer, Walter Trout n’en reste pas moins le maître des lieux et y règne sans partage. Et si nous sommes habitués à son jeu de guitare lumineux et varié allant d’un toucher magique (‘Me, My Guitar And The Blues’ – Jimmy Dawkins) à un jeu hendrixien sur le ‘God’s Word’ de JB Lenoir qui en avait fait à l’origine un simple duo chant-guitare, son chant monte encore les échelons sur ce nouvel opus. Il peut aussi bien se faire déchirant (‘Something Inside Of Me’ d’Elmore James, ou ‘It Takes Time’ d’Otis Rush) que d’une grande délicatesse (‘Nature Disappearing’). Cette variété se retrouve à différents niveaux tout au long de cet opus qui capte l’attention de la première à la dernière note et se révèle d’une richesse sans fin. Les ambiances alternent entre les ballades à la fois déchirantes et gorgées de feeling (‘Me, My Guitar And The Blues’, Something Inside Of Me’, ‘Out Of Bad Luck’ de Magic Sam) et les rock puissants (‘Please Love Me’ de B.B King, le rageur ‘Red Sun’ de Joel Poluck, ‘It Takes Time’).

Une nouvelle fois, Walter Trout offre un album complet, varié et sans faille, capable d’impressionner les puristes par sa qualité technique et de toucher tous les auditeurs en plein cœur. Rarement un album de reprises se sera fait aussi envoûtant et indispensable. Un immense merci à cet artiste qui se révèle de plus en plus comme un merveilleux pourvoyeur d’émotions.


Plus d'information sur http://www.waltertrout.com



GROUPES PROCHES:
JOE LOUIS WALKER, GENERAL STORE, ROBERT CRAY, JOHNNY WINTER, DOUBLE STONE WASHED, JOE BONAMASSA, ERIC GALES, SOUTHERN GENTLEMEN, JOHN MAYALL, JEFF HEALEY

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Me My Guitar And The Blues - 7:01
02. Be Careful How You Vote - 3:56
03. Woman Don't Lie (feat. Sugaray Rayford) - 5:27
04. Sadie - 4:44
05. Please Love Me - 3:47
06. Nature's Disappearing - 6:36
07. Red Sun - 4:26
08. Something Inside Of Me - 6:38
09. It Takes Time - 4:17
10. Out Of Bad Luck - 5:00
11. Going Down The River (feat. Robby Krieger) - 6:52
12. God's Word - 6:17

FORMATION:
Johnny Griparic: Basse
Michael Leasure: Batterie
Teddy ‘zig Zag’ Andreadis: Claviers
Walter Trout: Chant / Guitares
Robby Krieger: Guitares / Invité
Sugaray Rayford: Chant / Invité
   
(1) AVIS DES LECTEURS    
LOLO_THE_BEST59
22/03/2019
749
  0 0  
3/5
Après l'offrande de John Mayall, voici le tour de Walter Trout. Et le moins que l'on puisse dire c'est que les papys du blues tiennent la forme. Voilà un autre bon album de blues, varié et impeccable. Le titre d'ouverture est juste 'magique', pour reprendre le terme de Loloceltic, et se hisse au niveau d'un 'Bluest blues' d'Alvin Lee (la référence absolue en ce qui me concerne).
Haut de page
   
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)    
 
 
Haut de page
LECTEURS:
4/5 (2 avis)
STAFF:
4/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
WALTER TROUT : Nouvelle vidéo
DERNIERE INTERVIEW
WALTER TROUT (30 OCTOBRE 2015)
Touchant et émouvant témoignage d'un homme qui retrouve une seconde jeunesse et produit là un chef-d'œuvre qui marquera tant sa carrière que l'histoire du Rock Blues.
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
THE AMITY AFFLICTION: Misery (2018)
METALCORE - Bel objet musical émouvant, peut-être plus lisse que “Chasing Ghosts”, mais néanmoins habité par un désespoir éclatant.
BIKINIS & ICE CREAM: There's No Finish Line (2019)
ROCK ALTERNATIF - Un album de rock alternatif qui va vous faire du bien !
 
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
AUTRE(S) CHRONIQUES CONCERNANT WALTER TROUT
WALTER-TROUT_Ordinary-Madness
Ordinary Madness (2020)
5/5
5/5
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / BLUES
WALTER-TROUT_We-re-All-In-This-Together
We're All In This Together (2017)
4/5
-/5
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / BLUES
WALTER-TROUT_Battle-Scars
Battle Scars (2015)
5/5
-/5
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / BLUES
WALTER-TROUT_The-Outsider
The Outsider (2008)
4/5
-/5
MASCOT LABEL GROUP / BLUES
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2021