MW / Home / Reviews / RED CAIN: Kindred: Act I
BAND/AUTHOR:

RED CAIN

(CANADA)

TITLE:
KINDRED: ACT I
RELEASE DATE:
2019
LABEL:
AUTRE LABEL
GENRE:
MELODIC METAL
"We are indeed dealing with an album that could put a band with undeniable talent on the right track."
OCERIAN - 24.04.2019 -
A group recently released from the great plains of Alberta, Red Cain invites us, through their first album, to immerse ourselves in a powerful and modern melodic metal that blows a new wind on a genre that is losing momentum due to the presence of too many clones.

In other words, this 'Kindred: Act 1' is full of qualities. It is intended for music lovers who are not afraid of density and complexity. In fact, it is mainly about structures and melodies because their variety makes the path taken by Canadians quite unreadable. The background sound is easily saturated with powerful guitars and keyboard layers. From this very melodic maelstrom stands out a song that adapts wonderfully to the musical tonality. It may remind us of Hansi Kursch (Blind Guardian) or Matt Barlow (ex Iced Earth) for the most vehement as Tommy Karevik (Kamelot) in terms of melodic subtlety.

But Evgeniy Zayarny's fabulous voice is not the only attraction of Red Cain. Indeed, behind a powerful melodic metal we perceive much more technical or even progressive influences like Tesseract or Symphony X, both cited by the band, as well as Steven Wilson, Alter Bridge or Opeth. That is to say the width of the fan behind which our friends hide to let their creativity and inspiration sail. However, it is clearly not in the progressive register that Red Cain wants to be included, as it cultivates rather the traditional alloy of the original metal, which is intended to be at once powerful, very loud (as critics will say) and accessible to the greatest number of people. It is in a way this return to the roots, revised in 2019, that the group is seeking to explore. Not fleeing from the undue metal sound effects ("Juliet"), the natives of Cagliary do not set any limits and that is good.

After a rather thundering opening part of the album, diversity takes its rightful place in syncopated rhythms anchored in a deep and snoring key. Groove is thus an additional characteristic that can be identified as Red Cain. And it is with great confidence that the seven titles are presented with a fairly constant happiness.

It's not so easy to follow Red Cain's trajectory, which touches a little bit on everything while keeping the density and power that are the hallmarks of this beautiful first album. We certainly blamed him for his too short duration (39 minutes) and a little rough at times but we are dealing with an album that could put a band with undeniable talent on the right track.

More informations on https://www.facebook.com/redcainofficial/

VIDEO

SIMILAR BANDS

KAMELOT, BLIND GUARDIAN, SYMPHONY X, ALTER BRIDGE, TESSERACT

TRACK LISTING

01. Snakebouquet
02. Midnight Sarabande
03. Zero
04. Blood & Gold
05. Juliet
06. All Is Violence
07. Wing Of The Crow


LINEUP

Evgeniy Zayarny: Chant
Noah Bockmuehl: Guitares
Rogan Mcandrews: Basse
Taylor Gibson: Batterie
Daniel Louden: Chant / Invité
Kobra Paige: Chant / Invité
Tyler Corbett: Guitares / Invité


TAGS:
Cutting Edge, Chaotic, Groovy, Rasping voice
By clicking on the button below you can write your own review about this album and give it a rating. This is not a comment and requires at least ten lines to explain why you liked or disliked the production.
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
LINKS RED CAIN
 
RATING
 
4/5 (1 view(s))
- /5 (0 view(s))
MY RATE:
OTHERS REVIEWS RED CAIN
 
RED-CAIN_KINDRED-ACT-I Kindred: Act I (2019)
AUTRE LABEL / MELODIC METAL
F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
Some of our partners :
Roadrunner Records, Mascot Label Group, Spv Steamhammer, Afm Records, Sony Bmg, Peaceville, Warner, Unicorn Digital, Frontiers Records, Karisma Records, Insideout Music, Kscope, Ear Music, Progressive Promotion Records

© Music Waves | 2003 - 2019

ARTISTE:

RED CAIN

(CANADA)
TITRE:

KINDRED: ACT I

(2019)
LABEL:

AUTRE LABEL

GENRE:

METAL MELODIQUE

TAGS:
Avant-gardiste, Chant éraillé, Chaotique, Groovy
"Un album susceptible de mettre sur de bons rails un groupe au talent indéniable."
OCERIAN (24.04.2019)  
4/5
(0) Avis des lecteurs (0) commentaire(s)

Groupe récemment sorti des grandes plaines de l'Alberta, Red Cain nous invite, au travers de son premier album, à s'immerger dans un metal mélodique puissant et moderne qui fait souffler un vent nouveau sur un genre un peu en perte de vitesse par trop de clones.

Autant le dire tout de suite : ce "Kindred: Act 1" regorge de qualités mais s'adresse aux mélomanes que la densité et la complexité n'effraie pas, surtout concernant les structures et mélodies dont la variété rend assez illisible le chemin qu'empruntent les Canadiens. Le fond sonore est volontiers saturé de guitares puissantes et de nappes de claviers. De ce maelström somme toute très mélodique ressort un chant qui s'adapte merveilleusement à la tonalité musicale. Il peut faire penser à Hansi Kursch (Blind Guardian) ou Matt Barlow (ex-Iced Earth) pour le plus véhément comme à Tommy Karevik (Kamelot) en matière de subtilité mélodique.

Mais la fabuleuse voix d'Evgeniy Zayarny n'est pas le seul attrait de Red Cain. En effet, derrière un metal mélodique puissant se révèlent des influences bien plus techniques voire progressives à la Tesseract ou Symphony X, tous deux cités par le groupe, au même titre que Steven Wilson, Alter Bridge ou Opeth. C'est dire la largeur de l'éventail derrière lequel s'abritent nos amis pour laisser voguer leur créativité et leur inspiration. Cependant, ce n'est clairement pas dans le registre progressif que souhaite s'inscrire Red Cain qui cultive plutôt l'alliage traditionnel du metal des origines, à la fois puissant, très sonore (bruyant diront les détracteurs) et accessible pour s'adresser au plus grand nombre. C'est en quelque sorte ce retour aux sources revu à la mode 2019 que le groupe cherche à explorer. Ne fuyant pas derrière les bruitages façon metal indus ('Juliet'), les natifs de Cagliary ne se posent aucune limite et c'est tant mieux.

Après une première partie d'album assez tonitruante, la diversité prend toute sa place dans des rythmiques syncopées et ancrées dans une tonalité des plus graves et ronflantes. Le groove est ainsi une caractéristique supplémentaire que l'on peut identifier pour qualifier Red Cain.

Il n'est pas si évident de suivre la trajectoire de Red Cain qui touche un peu à tout en gardant une densité et une puissance qui sont la marque de fabrique de ce premier bel album. On lui reprochera certainement sa trop courte durée (39 minutes) et un côté quelque peu brouillon par moments mais on a bel et bien affaire à un album susceptible de mettre sur de bons rails un groupe au talent indéniable.


Plus d'information sur https://www.facebook.com/redcainofficial/



GROUPES PROCHES:
BLIND GUARDIAN, SYMPHONY X, KAMELOT, TESSERACT, ALTER BRIDGE

LISTE DES PISTES:
01. Snakebouquet
02. Midnight Sarabande
03. Zero
04. Blood & Gold
05. Juliet
06. All Is Violence
07. Wing Of The Crow

FORMATION:
Evgeniy Zayarny: Chant
Noah Bockmuehl: Guitares
Rogan Mcandrews: Basse
Taylor Gibson: Batterie
Daniel Louden: Chant / Invité
Kobra Paige: Chant / Invité
Tyler Corbett: Guitares / Invité
   
(0) AVIS DES LECTEURS    
Haut de page
   
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)    
 
Haut de page
LECTEURS:
-/5 (0 avis)
STAFF:
4/5 (1 avis)
MA NOTE :
 
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
RED CAIN: Les détails sur "Kindred: Act I"
 
AUTRES CHRONIQUES
STEP IN FLUID: Back In Business (2019)
METAL FUSION - Step In Fluid fait mieux que huit ans auparavant avec son jazz-core mutant encore plus groovy et plus mélodieux. Les Français reviennent aux affaires avec un album de fusion instrumental incontournable.
ALAN PARSONS: The Secret (2019)
ROCK PROGRESSIF - Fini le temps des expérimentations electro stériles, Alan Parsons revient à des mélodies plus organiques, à une pop classieuse teintée de symphonique, renouant ainsi avec son glorieux passé.
 
ECOUTE EN STREAMING
 
 
F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020