MW / Home / Articles
ABOUT:

Highly Suspect (NOVEMBER 2019)


TYPE:
INTERVIEW
GENRE:
ALTERNATIVE_ROCK

Grammy Award nominees are back, Highly Suspect are once again in the spotlight !
CALGEPO - 05.02.2020 - 2 picture(s) - (0) comment(s)
Highly Suspect continues to grow in stature and world renown while collecting Grammy Award nominations with their blend of alternative rock and hip hop denouncing a divided America. Music Waves couldn't miss the opportunity of a promo day to find out more about this band to follow. 

We met three years ago, since that last class, what happened to Highly Suspect? 

Rich: We toured extensively to support the last album during that time for 7 months in the States and multiplied the festivals like in San Antonio, it was an opportunity for us to get closer to our audience and feel the energy around the band. 



 
For this album you seem to have taken your time... Why, when you seemed to be on a closer rhythm between two productions?

Rich: Johnny broke his voice for a long time he couldn't sing anymore, so we couldn't compose and move forward on our new project. It took a long time before he was able to recover and then we went back into the songwriting and composing process. 


Did Matt Kofos with whom you toured regularly become the 4th member of the band ? How was his integration and what was his implication in this new album? 

Rich : Yes, Matt is definitely a full member of the band, we had been looking for a regular guitarist for a long time and Matt was touring with us. So his integration came naturally. He was a great help in writing the new album. We went to the studio, I started jamming on bass, a few guitar chords, Johnny wrote the lyrics and Matt was very involved in the rhythm lines. Everything was very fluid because we knew him for years. He came up with his ideas, and the way he saw the basics of the songs evolve was invaluable. 


So it's a team work that you propose?

Rich : Sometimes Johnny or I bring the basic ideas, and then the fine-tuning work is done in a team where everyone is free to express their opinions on this or that part. So we can talk about a collaboration where we both come up with the ideas. 


You are in Paris for the release of "MCID" this third album. In general, this number of three is often important in the life of a band. In spite of the fact that you tell us that you don't feel any pressure at the release of each of your albums, does this number of three represent something special for you? 


Rich: Every album is important to us. We never make an album and say, this is our third one, we're gonna have to do something really special. That doesn't direct our direction. We won't ask ourselves that question for the fourth one either. In fact when you make an album you have to put all your heart into it, it doesn't matter if it's the first, the third or the sixth... We have never released an album without giving the best we can do. And if we felt that a song wasn't good enough for this album, we put it aside. The place of the album in our discography doesn't guide the way we compose and write. 


In this album you push a little bit further your so particular sound which goes from alternative rock to hip hop through grunge and songs more in the songwriter style like Springsteen, unclassifiable, did you want to challenge yourself by going to the end of yourself and your limits with this album?

Rich: Absolutely, every album pushes us to our limits and must mark an evolution. For the previous album, we focused on rock with analog guitars that are very much in the forefront, with a very particular sound. 


Do you bring a more electronic flavour to this new album?

Rich: Yes, and also more lyrics and more space for the vocal lines. That explains, as I said, the delay in the release due to Johnny's illness. Mind you, we're still a rock band, but we feed our music with modern sounds.

Matt: Highly Suspect has always had broad inspirations and not just rock or grunge. We feel that every style we approach can bring something to our project. Of course we won't draw from styles that we feel are far away. We're not going to make Celtic music (laughs). Seriously, we individually have a lot of different backgrounds that we've managed to bring together and so far it's working. 


(Ryan joins us at this time)


For you the main thing is to experiment to keep a little interest in what you do? 

Ryan : Of course, the interest we maintain comes from that as well. For example using an instrument in a different way, looking for new sounds, making a bass sound like a drum kit, coming up with a riff with saturation, and if for each instrument you can do that then there's an interest in doing it. 


Do you think you've managed to keep your identity while trying new, more melodic things at the risk of losing fans? 

Rich: You know, you can't please everyone, that's a fact. However, we can't let pleasing the greatest number of people guide our work. We only do what we like, and if we don't like it so much, we don't do it.


For MCID we feel like a concept album with some transition tracks like 'Tetsuo's Bike' or 'Juzo', a bit like Dredg, I don't know if you know this band?

Rich : Dredg, I don't know

Matt: Yeah I know the name, I think they do a little stoner.


Yes, a Californian band that needs almost progressive alternative rock, precisely this album comes close with these transition tracks, concept album: is it an impression or a reality?

Rich: No, it's not a concept-album, it's about songs that are independent from each other. It's an impression. The short titles are there to give the whole thing a breath. 


What's the reference to the cartoon Akira in this concept?

Rich: Oh yes, we love this manga, the movie is amazing and we wanted to make a wink to this work that we love. More broadly we are fans of Japanese manga. This movie is probably one of the best in the genre, there's a lot of racing and that's why we wanted to make a cameo in this album. Akira is a bad ass and it suits us well (Laughs). 


According to our research 'MCID' stands for Minimal Clinically Important Difference, which is the smallest change in treatment outcome that an individual patient would identify as important and which would indicate a change in patient management... who is this patient? Would it be the USA and what would that change be? 

Rich: A medical term then. Oh boy, that's an incredible interpretation, I can see you've done a lot of research and unfortunately no, it's not that reference, but it's cool that you looked it up. It's more down to earth than that. It's more musical, MCID is more about family, the family of musicians that we are and that brings us together. It's amazing the connection that music can make between people and the means that we have today to listen to it. Whether it's in Australia or New Zealand, everyone can have their own playlist. Before DJ's, programmers had their playlist and you could go to them and ask for a track, in this day and age everything is immediate. This way the industry has evolved is impressive. 


Just this way of varying your songs anchored in what's best in the USA : rock, hip hop, acoustic... in the end it's totally in line with the way people listen to music nowadays by zapping from one genre to another like playlists.... (Johnny arrives at this moment)

Rich speaking to Johnny: he asked us an interesting question about the interpretation of IBD

Johnny : What is that interpretation?


A medical interpretation : Minimal Clinically Important Difference ...

Well done man. Yes, you can find this acronym on the internet, I've seen this acronym before but here it doesn't mean that. It means beyond the letters, it means something that is closer to the concept of family and love and not a medical term. You can also see the name of a christian music band too but here it's not the case. 


We were talking about the way people listen to music nowadays and the fact that your varied album fits this standard of listening. How do you relate to this evolution and in the end, unconsciously, you meet this standard?

Johnny : I don't know, this album is a kind of musical journey and I don't know if people will be aware of it or not. It's a full album in the sense that if you listen to it from beginning to end, there's a story...


But nowadays, you only pick up a few tracks from albums...

Johnny : Yes certainly and it's very difficult for us to defend and explain the fact that it's a full album. But that's the difficulty that a lot of bands have nowadays and often release EPs that are more in line with the times. 


In this album there's a particularly personal track for you Johnny 'Sixteen', we know that for you writing is a catharsis, aren't you afraid to expose yourself so much, to give yourself up to excess even if you don't want to keep any part of the mystery?

Johnny : I'm afraid so, yes. 


But you continue in spite of everything, why?

For me it's a therapy I can't escape. Expressing something makes me feel good. There's of course a shameless part to it. Rich shares the benefit of expressing, of putting personal words to songs. Psychologically it feels good to be able to take dark things out and share them. 





The clip that accompanies the song is impressive, there are references to science fiction ...

Johnny: Thank you, we love science fiction. It's one of the first times we've referred to it. We wanted to mark the occasion and do something different from that point of view as well. There's a Tanrantino and Akira side to it... 


And precisely, would you be attracted by an acting career?

Johnny : Wow, it's a fucking job (Laughs)...


Why, the fear of being a prisoner of a character when the music seems freer? 

Johnny : I think it's different especially. You have to be in the studio for hours waiting. I think you have to be patient, waiting for roles, chasing castings. It's not a profession I'm really attracted to even though I love film. 


In "MCID", your voice becomes more and more assertive, you always keep this power and variation but with a stronger sense of interpretation, did you do a special job compared to the previous albums?

Johnny : Yes, I took a few acting classes where I worked on my voice, took different accents. I've been able to modulate my voice from high to low, gaining in variety. I tried to bring it out in this new album either because the song had a very melodic atmosphere or a crunchy base? The voice is above all an instrument that you have to work on and its sound, its volume has to adapt to the songs.


And it's important because you said it's a story?

Johnny : Yes it is partly a story, yes it is, and all the more reason to connect the songs with each other by the voice. That's what we wanted to put forward for "MCID" in particular, more than for the other albums. 


In this album there are a lot of featurings (Young Thug, Conor Mason, Tee Grizzley and Gojira), are they there to reach a larger audience and make a buzz or to please you or to serve the concept?


Rich: Oh no, it's more to please us than to create the buzz. We're fans of these bands and being able to collaborate with them and convince them to do it has been a great opportunity for us. They are bands that bring something different to the songs by drawing from their style, they bring their own touch and it was very enriching to do it, especially as it sounds pretty good. 

Johnny: And it's easier for us to get in touch with them thanks to the festivals we did, where we rubbed shoulders with them. We really like this kind of meeting where you can get close to Slayer, Gojira... it allows you to feed off all these influences, all these musicians, to be able to create links that can lead to collaborations, sometimes unlikely. And this album is almost a mini festival in itself. 


In this meeting with Gojira we could have expected something more metal and yet it corresponds more to a Highly Suspect song, how did you work on the composition and how did you convince them to do something else than what they are used to? 

Rich : Musically speaking, it's almost something that sounds metal to us. To them it may not sound metal, but to Highly Suspect it does.

Johnny : We're neighbours and we often discuss production together. This song was done very quickly, I think in one day in the studio everything was finished, we worked on the lyrics and the music afterwards. It was very collaborative, I didn't impose anything at all. They're musical geniuses, when he sings it's just incredibly powerful. After for this song everyone will have his own interpretation: it's a Gojira song for others, a Highly Suspect song, for us it doesn't matter, it was a great opportunity to do it.


Arizona' stands out with its acoustic atmosphere very close to what Bruce Springsteen can do, in the previous album 'Chicago' evoked a bit of that atmosphere. Why when you compose songs with names corresponding to a place in the USA, do you adopt this orientation of storyteller? 

Rich: There's not necessarily a link between the style and the name of the songs, it's pure coincidence. Arizona is a place that I've visited a lot, I have a special relationship with that place that I've travelled to a lot. I lived for a long time in a neighbouring state. Maybe it was the atmosphere that guided me to adopt something more acoustic.

Johnny : To answer your question, Chicago was referring to an ex-girlfriend from that city. A lot of these kinds of songs are about love or lost love. And giving them titles of cities or places allows you to remember those events, happy or not, without evoking people's names. It's more about moods being expressed, memories, yes.


In the previous interview you said you feared for us with Marine Le Pen. It happened just after Trump's election and just before our elections... in the end we escaped it... the next elections will take place soon in your country and despite everything that has been said, denounced, Trump has a strong chance of being re-elected with a particularly favourable economic record seen from the outside, why? Does that scare you? 

Johnny : (Mimicking the gesture) Money, money, money.... 


The Democrats don't have enough or no more... It's all about money?

Johnny : It's about money, it's about the disorganization of the Democratic party, it's about the disorganization of Trump's America. It's all about that, people are anesthetized and are in their thoughts, in their fears. This is someone who is enormously influential in our country, he is manipulative. He knows how to surround himself well and above all he is a person who has a lot of self-confidence, who is very sure or who gives the impression that he is. That's what he wants to show, a showcase but behind it... He's someone who's not intelligent, he's an idiot...





It's a paradox because he has a good chance of being re-elected, don't you see from here?

What do you want, I can't explain it to you. It's not going well because there's no one toc counter it, we're a bit disappointed about it.

 
What are you waiting for this album: the end of a chapter and the beginning of a new one? 

Rich: I hope it will be a great success because we're very proud of it. We're scared because it's less rock than the previous ones, but rock is not just one sound. It's a mentality, a way of looking at it. 

Johnny : Look at David Bowie's discography, he went through so many styles but it's still one of the symbols of rock. So if you can be in his groove, that's great. 


Thanks to you guys.

Merci




More informations on https://www.facebook.com/highlysuspect
 
(0) COMMENT(S)
Here you can react to the album or column, explain why you agree or disagree or simply tell your life story...
 
No comment. Be the first to react about this article
Top of page
 
Main Image
Item 1 of 0
 
  • 19013
  • 19014
Top of page
LINKED
DERNIERE CHRONIQUE
Mcid (2019)
Constructed as a kind of playlist that corresponds to the air of the time, zapping from one style to the other so as not to bore, "MCID" might seem incoherent when it's quite the opposite. Read all reviews regarding HIGHLY SUSPECT
OTHER ARTICLES
PREVIOUS ARTICLE
APOCALYPTICA (NOVEMBER 2019)
One of the leader of the classical melodic metal scene, Apocalyptica is back to its first love with a purely instrumental album presented by Perttu Kivilaakso for Music Waves.
 
NEXT ARTICLE
DEMONS & WIZARDS (JANUARY 2020)
Their coming back was unexpected! And yet, 15 years after their second album, Hansi Kürsch and Jon Schaffer are back with a third opus that the singer of Blind Guardian came to present to you.

F.A.Q. / You found a bug / Terms Of Use
Music Waves (Media) - Rock (Progressive, Alternative...), Hard Rock (AOR, Melodic,...) & Metal (heavy, progressive, melodic, ...) Media
Reviews, News, Interviews, Advices, Promotion, Releases, Concerts
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020

MW / Accueil / Articles / INTERVIEWS - HIGHLY SUSPECT (29 NOVEMBRE 2019)
TITRE:

HIGHLY SUSPECT (29 NOVEMBRE 2019)


TYPE:
INTERVIEWS
GENRE:

ROCK ALTERNATIF



Retour des multi-nommés aux Grammy Awards, Highly Suspect sur le devant de la scène
CALGEPO - 05.02.2020 -
2 photo(s) - (0) commentaire(s)


Highly Suspect n'en finit plus de faire grandir son aura et sa renommée mondiale tout en collectionnant les nominations aux Grammy Awards avec leur mélange de rock alternatif et de hip hop dénonciateur d'une une Amérique clivée. Music Waves ne pouvait pas louper l'occasion d'une journée promo afin d'en savoir un peu plus encore sur ce groupe à suivre.

Nous nous sommes rencontrés il y a 3 ans, depuis cette dernière promo, qu'est-il arrivé à Highly Suspect ?

Rich : Nous avons énormément tourné pour soutenir le dernier album au cours de cette période pendant 7 mois aux Etats-Unis et multiplié les festivals comme à San Antonio, ça a été pour nous l'occasion de nous rapprocher de notre public et de ressentir l'énergie autour du groupe.



 
Pour cet album vous semblez avoir pris votre temps... Pourquoi, alors que vous sembliez être sur un rythme plus rapproché entre deux productions ?


Rich : Johnny s'est cassé la voix pendant un long moment il n'arrivait plus à chanter, ce qui a fait que nous ne pouvions pas composer et avancer sur notre nouveau projet. Il s'est passé énormément de temps avant qu'il puisse s'en remettre et ensuite nous sommes rentrés en processus de composition et d'écriture.
 

Matt Kofos avec qui vous tourniez régulièrement est il devenu le 4ème membre du groupe ? Comment s'est déroulé son intégration et quelle a été son implication dans ce nouvel album ?

Rich : Oui, Matt est définitivement un membre à part entière du groupe, on cherchait un guitariste régulier depuis longtemps et Matt tournait avec nous. Son intégration s'est donc faite naturellement. Il nous a été d'une grande aide dans l'écriture du nouvel album. Nous sommes allés au studio, je me suis mis à jammer à la basse, quelques accords de guitare, Johnny a écrit les paroles et Matt s'est impliqué grandement dans les lignes rythmiques. Tout a été très fluide car nous le connaissions depuis des années. Il a proposé ses idées, et sa façon dont il voyait évoluer les bases des chansons a été précieuse. 


C'est donc un travail d'équipe que vous proposez ?


Rich : Parfois c'est Johnny ou moi qui apportons les idées de bases, ensuite, le travail de peaufinage se fait en équipe où chacun est libre d'exprimer ses opinions sur telle ou telle partie. Donc on peut parler d'une collaboration pour laquelle nous provoquons à deux les idées. 


Lorsque tu fais un album tu dois y mettre tout ton cœur, peu importe que ce soit le premier, le troisième ou le sixième


Vous êtes à Paris pour la sortie de "MCID" ce troisième album. En général, ce chiffre de trois est souvent important dans la vie d'un groupe. Malgré le fait que vous nous indiquiez ne ressentir aucune pression à la sortie de chacun de vos albums, est ce que ce chiffre de trois représente quelque chose de spécial pour vous ?

Rich : Chaque album est important à nos yeux. Nous ne faisons jamais un album en nous disant, ça y est c'est notre troisième, il va falloir faire quelque chose de vraiment spécial. Cela ne dirige pas notre orientation. De même nous ne nous poserons pas cette question pour le quatrième. En fait lorsque tu fais un album tu dois y mettre tout ton cœur, peu importe que ce soit le premier, le troisième ou le sixième... Nous n'avons jamais sorti un album en n'ayant pas donné le meilleur que nous puissions faire. Et si nous estimions qu'une chanson n'était pas assez bonne pour cet album, nous la mettions de côté. La place de l'album dans notre discographie ne guide pas notre façon de composer et d'écrire. 

Dans cet album vous poussez un peu plus loin votre sonorité si particulière qui va du rock alternatif au hip hop en passant par le grunge et des chansons plus dans le style songwritter à la Springsteen, inclassable, avez vous voulu vous challenger en allant jusqu'au au bout de vous-mêmes et de vos limites avec cet album ?

Rich : Absolument, chaque album nous pousse dans nos retranchements et doit marquer une évolution. Pour le précédent album, nous avons mis l'accent sur le rock avec des guitares analogiques très mises en avant, avec un son bien particulier.


Pour ce nouvel album, vous y apportez une couleur plus électronique ?


Rich : Oui, et aussi plus de paroles et de place pour les lignes de chant. Cela explique comme je l'ai dit le retard pris pour la sortie en raison de la maladie de Johnny. Attention, nous sommes toujours un groupe de rock, mais nous alimentons notre musique avec des sonorités modernes.

Matt : Highly Suspect a toujours eu des sources d'inspirations larges et pas uniquement rock ou grunge. Nous estimons que chaque style abordé peut nous apporter quelque chose dans notre projet. Bien sûr nous n'allons pas non plus puiser dans des styles que nous estimons éloignés. Nous n'allons pas faire de la musique celtique (rires). Plus sérieusement, nous avons individuellement beaucoup de backgrounds différents que nous  avons réussi à réunir et pour l'instant ça marche.


(Ryan nous rejoint à ce moment)


Pour vous l'essentiel réside dans le fait d'expérimenter pour garder un peu d'intérêt dans ce que vous faites ?


Ryan : Bien sûr, l'intérêt que nous maintenons vient de là aussi. Par exemple utiliser un instrument d'une autre manière, rechercher de nouveaux sons, faire sonner une basse comme une batterie, sortir un riff avec de la saturation, et si pour chaque instrument tu arrives à faire ça alors il y a un intérêt à le faire.

Pensez-vous avoir réussi à conserver votre identité tout en essayant des choses nouvelles plus mélodiques au risque de perdre des fans ?

Rich : Tu sais, on ne peut pas plaire à tout le monde, c'est un fait. Toutefois, il ne faut pas que plaire au plus grand monde guide notre travail. Nous faisons uniquement ce qui nous plait et si ça ne plait pas tant pis.

Matt : Il finira en prison tout simplement (Rires)

Pour MCID nous avons l'impression d'un concept album avec quelques titres de transition comme 'Tetsuo's Bike' ou 'Juzo', un peu à la manière de Dredg, je ne sais pas si vous connaissez ce groupe ?

Rich : Dredg, je ne connais pas

Matt : Oui je connais de nom, je crois qu'ils font un peu de stoner


Oui, un groupe californien qui faut plutôt du rock alternatif presque progressif, justement cet album s'en rapproche avec ces titres de transition, concept album : est-ce qu'une impression ou une réalité ?


Rich : Non, il ne s'agit pas d'un concept-album, il s'agit de chansons indépendantes les unes des autres. C'est une impression. Les titres courts sont là pour donner une respiration à l'ensemble.

Que vient faire la référence au dessin animé Akira dans ce concept ?

Rich : Oh oui, nous adorons ce manga, le film est hallucinant et nous voulions faire un clin d'œil à cette œuvre que nous adorons. Plus largement nous sommes fans de manga japonais. Ce film est sans doute l'un des tout meilleurs dans le genre, il y a plein de courses et voilà pourquoi nous tenions à faire un cameo dans cet album. Akira est un bad ass et ça nous correspond bien (Rires).


C'est incroyable cette connexion que la musique peut faire naître entre les gens et les moyens aujourd'hui qui s'offrent à nous pour l'écouter


D'après nos recherche 'MCID' signifie Minimal Clinically Important Difference correspondant au plus petit changement dans les résultats d'un traitement qu'un patient individuel identifierait comme étant important et qui indiquerait un changement dans la prise en charge du patient... qui est ce patient ? Serait il les USA et quel serait ce changement ?

Rich : Un terme médical alors. Oh la vache, voici une interprétation incroyable, je vois que tu as fait beaucoup de recherches et malheureusement non, ce n'est pas cette référence, mais c'est cool d'avoir cherché. C'est plus terre à terre que ça. C'est plutôt musical, MCID est plus quelque chose relatif à la famille, la famille de musiciens que nous sommes et qui nous réunis. C'est incroyable cette connexion que la musique peut faire naitre entre les gens et les moyens aujourd'hui qui s'offrent à nous pour l'écouter. Que ce soit en Australie, en Nouvelle-Zélande, chacun peu disposer de sa playlist. Avant les DJ's, les programmateurs avaient leur playlist et tu pouvais aller les voir pour demander tel ou tel titre, à notre époque tout est immédiat. Cette façon dont l'industrie a évolué est impressionnante.


Justement cette manière de varier vos chansons ancrées dans ce qu'il y a de meilleur dans les USA le rock, le hip hop, l'acoustique... au final cela rejoint totalement la manière dont les gens écoutent la musique aujourd'hui en zappant d'un genre à un autre comme des playlists.... (Johnny arrive à ce moment)


Rich s'adressant à Johnny : il nous a posé une question intéressante sur l'interprétation de MICD...

Johnny : Quelle est cette interprétation ?


Une interprétation médicale : Minimal Clinically Important Difference ...


Johnny : Bien joué mec. Oui, tu peux trouver ce sigle sur internet, je l'avais déjà vu cet acronyme mais ici, il ne veut pas dire ça. Il signifie au delà des lettres plus quelque chose qui se rapproche du concept  d'une famille et l'amour et non un terme médical. Tu peux aussi y voir le nom d'un groupe de musique chrétienne aussi mais ici ce n'est pas le cas.


Nous évoquions la manière dont les gens écoutent la musique actuellement et le fait que votre album varié correspond à ce standard d'écoute. Quel rapport avez vous face à cette évolution et au final, inconsciemment vous répondez à ce standard ?


Johnny : Je ne sais pas, cet album est une sorte de parcours musical et je ne sais pas si les gens en auront conscience ou non. C'est un album à part entière en ce sens que si tu l'écoutes du début à la fin, il y a une histoire...


Mais de nos jours, on ne pique dans les albums que quelques titres....


Johnny : Oui certainement et c'est très difficile pour nous de défendre et d'expliquer le fait qu'il s'agit d'un album complet. Mais c'est aujourd'hui la difficulté que beaucoup de groupes ont et qui sortent souvent des EP qui correspondent plus à l'époque.

Dans cet album il y a un titre particulièrement personnel pour toi Johnny 'Sixteen', on sait que pour toi l'écriture est une catharsis, ne craints tu pas de t'exposer autant, de te livrer à l'excès quitte à ne garder aucune part de mystère ?

Johnny : J'en ai peur oui.


Pour moi c'est une thérapie à laquelle je ne peux échapper. Exprimer quelque chose me fait du bien. Il y a bien sûr une part impudique à le faire



Mais tu continues malgré tout, pourquoi ?

Johnny : Pour moi c'est une thérapie à laquelle je ne peux échapper. Exprimer quelque chose me fait du bien. Il y a bien sûr une part impudique à le faire. Rich partage ce bienfait d'exprimer, de mettre des mots personnels sur des chansons. Psychologiquement ça fait du bien de pouvoir sortir des choses sombres et de les partager.




Le clip qui accompagne la chanson est impressionnant, il y a des références à la science-fiction....

Johnny : Merci, nous adorons la science-fiction. C'est une des première fois où nous y faisons référence. Nous souhaitions marquer le coup et faire quelque chose de différent aussi de ce point de vue. Il y a un côté Tanrantino et Akira...


Et justement, serais-tu attiré par une carrière d'acteur ?


Johnny : Houla, c'est un putain de job (Rires)...


Pourquoi, la peur d'être prisonnier d'un personnage alors que la musique semble plus libre ?


Johnny : Je crois que c'est différent surtout. Tu dois être présent en studio pendant des heures à attendre. Je pense que tu dois être surtout patient, attendre des rôles, courir après des castings. Ce n'est pas une profession qui m'attire vraiment même si j'aime le cinéma.


Dans "MCID", ta voix s'affirme de plus en plus, tu gardes toujours cette puissance et cette variation mais avec un sens plus fort de l'interprétation, as -u accompli un travail particulier par rapport aux précédents albums ?

Johnny : Oui, j'ai pris quelques cours de théâtre dans lesquels j'ai travaillé ma voix, pris différents accents. J'ai pu moduler ma voix de l’aiguë à la plus grave, gagné en variété. J'ai essayé de la faire transparaitre dans ce nouvel album soit parce que la chanson avait une atmosphère très mélo ou bien une base crunchy... La voix est avant tout un instrument qui se travaille et sa sonorité, son volume doivent s'adapter aux chansons.


Et c'est important car tu l'as dit cette histoire est une histoire ?


Johnny : Oui en partie une histoire, oui tout à fait, et raison de plus pour connecter les chansons entre elles par la voix. C'est ce qu'on voulait mettre en avant pour "MCID" particulièrement, plus que pour les autres albums.

Dans cet album il y a beaucoup de featurings (Young Thug, Conor Mason, Tee Grizzley et Gojira), sont-ils là pour toucher un public plus large et faire du buzz ou bien pour vous faire plaisir ou servir le concept ?

Rich : Oh non, c'est plus pour nous faire plaisir que par une volonté de créer le buzz. Nous sommes fans de ces groupes et le fait de pouvoir collaborer avec eux et de les convaincre de le faire a été pour nous une belle opportunité. Ce sont des groupes qui apportent quelque chose de différent aux titres en puisant dans leur style, ils y apportent leur touche respective et c'était très enrichissant de le faire, d'autant que ça sonne plutôt pas mal.

Johnny : Et c'est plus facile pour nous de pouvoir les contacter grâce aux festivals que nous avons faits, au cours desquels nous les avons côtoyés. Nous aimons beaucoup ce genre de rencontres où tu peux approcher des Slayer, Gojira... ça te permet de te nourrir de toutes ces influences, de tous ces musiciens, de pouvoir créer des liens qui peuvent aboutir à des collaborations, parfois improbables. Et cet album est en soi presque un mini festival.

Dans cette rencontre avec Gojira on aurait pu s'attendre à quelque chose de plus metal et pourtant elle correspond plus à une chanson de Highly Suspect, comment avez vous travaillé la composition et su les convaincre de faire autre chose que ce à quoi ils sont habitués ?

Rich : D'un point de vue musical, c'est presque pour nous quelque chose qui nous parait metal. Pour eux cela sonne peut-être pas metal mais pour Highly Suspect oui.

Johnny : Nous sommes voisins et nous discutons production souvent ensemble. Cette chanson s'est faite très rapidement, je crois en une journée de studio tout a été terminé, on a travaillé sur les paroles et la musique ensuite. Cela a été très collaboratif, je n'ai rien imposé du tout. Ce sont des génies de la musique, quand il chante c'est juste incroyable de puissance. Après pour cette chanson chacun aura son interprétation : c'est une chanson de Gojira pour d'autres une chanson de Highly Suspect, pour nous qu'importe, ce fut une belle opportunité de le faire.


'Arizona' détonne avec son atmosphère acoustique très proche de ce que peut faire Bruce Springsteen, dans le précédent album 'Chicago' évoquait un peu cette atmosphère. Pourquoi lorsque vous composez des titres avec des noms correspondant à un endroit des USA, vous adoptez cette orientation de storyteller ?


Rich : Il n'y a pas forcément de lien entre le style et le nom des chansons, c'est un pur hasard. L'Arizona est un endroit que j'ai visité souvent, j'ai une relation spéciale avec ce lieu dans lequel j'ai beaucoup voyagé. J'ai vécu longtemps dans un état voisin. C'est peut être l'atmosphère qui m'a guidé pour adopter quelque chose de plus acoustique.

Johnny : Pour répondre à ta question, Chicago évoquait une ex-petite amie de cette ville. Beaucoup de ce genre de chansons évoque l'amour ou un amour perdu. Et le fait de leur donner des titres de ville ou de lieux permet de se souvenir de ces événements joyeux ou non sans évoquer le nom des personnes. Ce sont plus des états d'âme qui sont exprimés, des souvenirs, oui.


Au cours de la précédente interview vous avez dit craindre pour nous avec Marine Le Pen. Cela se passait juste après l'élection de Trump et juste avant nos élections... au final nous y avons échappé... les prochaines élections vont se dérouler bientôt chez vous et malgré tout ce qui a été dit, dénoncé, Trump a de forte chance d'être réélu avec un bilan notamment économique vu de l'extérieur favorable, pourquoi ? Est-ce que ça vous fait peur ?


Johnny : (Mimant le geste) Money, money, money....


Les Démocrates n'en ont plus ou pas assez.... Ce n'est qu'une histoire d'argent ?


Johnny : C'est une question d'argent, c'est une question de désorganisation du parti Démocrate, c'est une question de désorganisation de l'Amérique de Trump. Tout tourne autour de ça, les gens sont anesthésiés et sont dans leurs pensées, dans leurs peurs. C'est quelqu'un qui est énormément influent chez nous, il est manipulateur. Il sait bien s'entourer et surtout c'est une personne qui a énormément confiance en lui, très sûr ou qui en donne l'impression. C'est ce qu'il veut montrer, une vitrine mais derrière.... C'est quelqu'un est n'est pas intelligent, c'est un idiot...





C'est un paradoxe car il a de bonnes chances d'être réélu, on ne comprend pas vu d'ici ?


Johnny : Que veux tu, je ne peux te l'expliquer. C'est mal parti en effet car il n'y a rien en face, on est un peu dépités face à ça.

 

Qu'est ce que vous attendez ce cet album : la fin d'un chapitre et le commencement d'un nouveau ?

Rich : J'espère qu'il aura beaucoup de succès car nous en sommes très fiers. Nous avons peur car il est moins rock que les précédents, mais le rock n'est pas qu'un seul son. C'est une mentalité, une façon de voir.

Johnny : Regarde la discographie de David Bowie, il est passé par tellement de styles mais ça reste un des symboles du rock. Alors si on peut être dans son sillon, c'est top.


Merci à vous.

Merci (en français). 


Plus d'informations sur https://www.facebook.com/highlysuspect
 
(0) COMMENTAIRE(S)  
 
Haut de page
 
Main Image
Item 1 of 0
 
  • 19013
  • 19014
Haut de page
EN RELATION AVEC HIGHLY SUSPECT
 
DERNIERE CHRONIQUE
HIGHLY SUSPECT: Mcid (2019)
4/5

Construit comme une sorte de playlist qui correspond à l'air du temps, Highly Suspect a trouvé la recette pour mélanger les genres et en tirer le meilleur, "MCID" en est le plus beau témoignage.
 
DERNIERE ACTUALITE
HIGHLY SUSPECT ENQUETE SUR MUSIC WAVES!
 
AUTRES ARTICLES
DREAM THEATER - LA SEINE MUSICALE - 26 JANVIER 2020
Dream Theater défend son "Distance over Time" à la Seine Musicale et nous plonge 20 ans en arrière, alors que sortait tout juste "Metropolis Part 2"...
DEMONS & WIZARDS (17 JANVIER 2020)
Leur retour était inespéré ! Et pourtant, 15 ans après leur deuxième album, Hansi Kürsch et Jon Schaffer sont de retour avec un troisième opus que le chanteur de Blind Guardian est venu vous présenter.
 

F.A.Q. / Vous avez trouvé un bug / Conditions d'utilisation
Music Waves (Media) - Media sur le Rock (progressif, alternatif,...), Hard Rock (AOR, mélodique,...) & le Metal (heavy, progressif, mélodique, extrême,...)
Chroniques, actualités, interviews, conseils, promotion, calendrier des sorties
© Music Waves | 2003 - 2020